Homemade Cereal Bars

For a long time I have been trying different ways of introducing more fiber into my diet. I like cereals, nuts, vegetables and fruits a lot, which means for me it has not been very difficult to do so however sometimes it’s hard to keep a healthy, balanced and rich-in-fiber diet. This either because I don’t have time to prepare a nice meal or I am travelling and far away from my kitchen or I am lazy and do not feel like cooking.

IMG_8409-web

In those moments today’s recipe, homemade cereal bars, is perfect. Because they are prepared with organic ingredients, these cereal bars are synonymous of tasty, healthy and energetic food. They can be enjoyed as part of your breakfast or as a snack when you are feeling a bit peckish.

IMG_8438-web.jpg

Since this recipe has been a success among my friends from time to time I do not miss the opportunity to give them cereal bars as a gift. Do you know why? Well, once I read a quote that said: “cooking is love made visible” so I express love by sharing what I have cooked.

IMG_8484-web

Ingredients


  • 2 cups organic oats
  • 1/2 cup organic almonds, chopped
  • 1/2 cup organic pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup organic sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup organic Brazil nuts, chopped
  • 1/4 cup organic dried fruits
  • 1/3 cup organic peanut butter or coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup organic honey
  • A pinch of salt

1 – Preheat the oven to 180ºc and bake the oats, almonds, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds for 9 minutes.

2 – In a pan warm the peanut butter (or coconut oil) with the honey just until the butter is melted. Set it aside to cool a bit.

3- In a bowl mix all the ingredients until they amalgamate well.

4 – Line a square tin with baking paper and add the above mix to it; with a spoon spread the mixture on the tin and press it down firmly.

5 – Refrigerate it for at least 1 hour before cutting it with a sharp knife.

These cereal bars keep well at a room temperature for 1 week.

Tip – you can change or add new types of nuts and seed as you wish, the important thing is to maintain a good balance between dried and liquid ingredients otherwise the bar will not stick.

If you would like bars crispy and sweet add an extra 1/3 cup of dark muscovado cane sugar when warming the peanut butter (or coconut oil) with the honey.

IMG_8496-web.jpg

Barrinhas de Cereais Caseira


Por um longo tempo eu tenho tentado diferentes maneiras de introduzir mais fibra em minha dieta. Eu gosto muito de cereais, nozes, legumes e frutas, o que significa que para mim não tem sido muito difícil fazê-lo, no entanto, por vezes, é difícil manter uma dieta saudável, equilibrada e rica em fibras. Seja porque eu não tenho tempo para preparar uma boa refeição ou porque estou viajando e longe da minha cozinha ou porque estou com preguiça e não tenho vontade de cozinhar.

IMG_8511-web.jpg

Nesses momentos a receita de hoje, barrinhas de cereais caseira, é perfeita. Preparadas com ingredientes orgânicos, essas barras de cereais são sinônimo de uma comida saborosa, saudável e energética. Elas podem ser apreciadas como parte de seu café da manhã ou como um lanchinho para quando você está sentindo um pouco com fome.

IMG_8552--web.jpg

Porque esta receita tem sido um sucesso entre os meus amigos de vez em quando eu não perco a oportunidade de dar-lhes barras de cereais como um presente. Você sabe por quê? Bem, uma vez eu li uma frase que dizia: “cozinhar é amor feito visível” então eu expresso amor, compartilhando o que eu cozinho.

IMG_8580-web

IMG_8502-web

Ingredientes


  • 2 xícaras de aveia orgânica
  •  1/2 xícara de amêndoas orgânica, picada
  • 1/2 xícara de  sementes de abóbora orgânica
  • 1/2 xícara de sementes de girassol orgânica
  • 1/2 xícara de castanhas do Pará orgânica, picada
  • 1/4 xícara de frutas secas orgânica
  • 1/3 xícara de manteiga de amendoim orgânica ou óleo de coco
  • 1/2 xícara de mel orgânico
  • Uma pitada de sal

1- Pré-aqueça o forno a 180ºC e asse a aveia, amêndoas, sementes de abóbora e sementes de girassol por 10 minutos;

2- Em uma panela aqueça a manteiga de amendoim (ou óleo de coco) com o mel apenas até a manteiga derreter. Deixe de lado para esfriar um pouco;

3 – Em uma tigela misture todos os ingredientes até eles amalgamarem bem;

4 – Forre uma forma quadrada com papel manteiga e adicione a mistura acima a ela; com uma colher espalhe a mistura na forma e pressione-a com firmeza;

5 – Leve à geladeira por pelo menos 1 hora. Após, corte com uma faca afiada.

Estas barras de cereais mantêm-se bem a temperatura ambiente por até 1 semana.

Dica – você pode mudar ou adicionar novos tipos de nozes e sementes como quiser, o importante é manter um bom equilíbrio entre os ingredientes secos e líquidos caso contrário, a barrinha não vai “grudar”.

Se você gostar de uma barrinha mais crocante e doce adicione, extra, 1/3 xícara de açúcar mascavo quando você aquecer a manteiga de amendoim (ou óleo de coco) com o mel.

IMG_8602-web.jpg

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This is a very good recipe!

    Like

    1. Iwanttobeacook says:

      Thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

